Seattle Vegfest

Vegfest is awesome!

There’s swag:

vegfest_swag

And tons of yummy samples to taste:

sodelicious

mightyodonuts

Vegan donuts? Yes, please!

The best thing about Vegfest is paying a mere eight dollars to try out hundreds of products that I’ve been curious about but hesitant to actually buy. Partly because I’m cheap, but mostly cus sometimes certain vegan foods sound like a great idea and instead turn out to be really really awful (I’m looking at you, almond milk yogurt).

Here’s my short list of products that I was impressed with and would happily fork over my cash for:

  • Field Roast Burgers and Chao Cheese: I’m not a huge fan of faux meats and cheeses, but Field Roast absolutely lives up to the hype. (And there’s a lot of hype!) I was especially impressed with the cheese, which is a big deal since I still eat dairy and vegan cheeses usually give me a major case of the sads. Chao gives me hope that one day I could possibly give up my addiction to dairy. When I first gave up meat, I didn’t like eating veggie burgers cus I thought, “What’s the point? They taste nothing like the deliciousness that is red meat.” But then one day, I found myself freaking after biting into a black bean burger because I thought the restaurant had messed up my order and given me a regular burger.
  • Rudi’s Gluten-Free Bread: Sometimes I go on gluten-free kicks (I know, I’m that kind of girl) and Rudi’s bread tastes like…bread. Gluten-free foods are hit-or-miss. Rudi’s does it right and I  swiped a bunch of their dollar off coupons for the next time I decide I’m convinced I’m gluten-intolerant.
  • HempPro Protein Powder: I’ve been looking for a new vegan protein powder and HempPro’s chocolate flavor is yummy and not at all chalky. I may have swiped a month’s worth of samples of these as well.
  • Sunbutter: I’m a nut butter hoarder. In my pantry, there is currently a jar of cashew butter, almond butter, pecan butter, and three types of peanut butter. Sunflower seed butter will be joining the mix.
  • So Delicious Ice Cream Sandwiches: Although I eat dairy, I don’t drink milk or eat much ice cream, because…I’m Asian. These are perfect for when I’m craving ice cream, minus the bloating. I’m not a big coconut milk as a dairy substitute fan, so the strawberry bar (pictured above) wasn’t my fave, but the ice cream sandwiches are legit!
  • Eden Brown Rice Mochi: I first tried out Eden products at a Boston Vegfest years ago, and I love their stuff- especially the Asian foods. They waffled the mochi and served it with their concord grape butter which is all sorts of delicious and genius.

There were also many awesome smaller and local companies at Vegfest hawking all the usual earthy crunchy suspects like artisan nut butters, kraut, cashew cheese, chai tea, etc. I LOVE trying this stuff, but rarely purchase them because the closeted non-lazy hippie in me really thinks I’m going to make them on my own…or I might just be an awful person who does not support small businesses. But seriously, I really am going to buy a scoby on Craigslist one day and make my own kombucha!

There was one product that I would totally buy though: Liefie’s Coconut Milk Caramel Cardamom Sauce. I’m obsessed with cardamom lately, and her caramel was the type of good that I already know I can’t recreate at home. If you’re in the PNW, and see her caramel sauce, buy it, and thank me.

rudisbread

sodelicious1

So next time a Vegfest rolls up in your ‘hood, GO! You’re guaranteed to leave stuffed, and if you want (and who doesn’t) with a bag full of swag and coupons to keep the veg fun rolling.

Leave a Reply

